Announcement - Book Launch

25 August 2003

Laying the Foundations of Industrial Justice: The Presidents of the Industrial Relations Commission of NSW 1902-1998

On 25th August 2003 the above book (edited by Greg Patmore) was launched in the President's Dining Room, Parliament House, Sydney by Professor Ron McCallum, Dean of Law, Sydney University.

The book examines the role of industrial regulators in shaping notions of industrial justice. In 2002 the Industrial Relations Commission of NSW celebrated its centenary and this book was conceived as a way of marking that important milestone.

This book focuses on the first nine presidents of the Industrial Relations Commission commencing with Henry Emanual Cohen in 1902 and concluding with William Kenneth Fisher who retired in 1998.

Read the Forew​ord (PDF format) to the publication by Justice F L Wright, the current President of the Industrial Relations Commission.

"Laying the Foundations of Industrial Justice" is published by The Federation Press.